History of Lijiang
Since the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), it has been the distribution center and a confluence for trade along the old tea-horse road.
The Naxi women were well known for their hand-made embroidery before 1972 during the Great Cultural Revolution.
In 1996 Lijiang suffered severe damage from a horrific earthquake and many people died.
In 1997 Lijiang was listed as one of the UNESCO Heritage Sites.
The bird's-eye-perspective of Lijiang Ancient City