Ming Tombs

The Ming Tombs are located at the southern foot of Tainshou Mountain in Beiing’s Changping District, occupying on an area of over 40 square kilometers. The burial ground is so called because all thirteen Ming emperors who ruled China after the Chinese capital was moved to Beijing were buried there. Construction of the Ming Tombs took over two centuries, starting from the building of Changling Tomb in the 7th year of the Yongle Reign to the completion of Siling Tomb in the early years of the Shunzhi Reign of Qing Dynasty. The major attractions of the Ming Tombs are the Sacred Way and the ground and underground architecture of the tombs. Of the thirteen tombs, three are currently open to the public, namely, Changling Tomb, Dingling Tomb and Zhaoling Tomb. The tombs exhibit an elegant yet dignified architectural style. No other imperial mausoleums in the world are so well preserved and have entombed so many imperial bodies as the Ming Tombs.

Ming Tombs Ming Dynasty

According to the order of construction time, they ranked as followed: Changling Tomb, Xianling Tomb, Jingling Tomb, Yuling Tomb, Maoling Tomb, Tailing Tomb, Kangling Tomb, Yongling Tomb, Zhaoling Tomb, Dingling Tomb, Qingling Tomb, Deling Tomb and Siling Tomb. Only Changling Tomb, Zhaolng Tomb and Dingling Tomb pen to the tourists now. 

Ming Tombs Beautiful Building

Ask Question

Recommended China Tour Packages

Share to