Summer Palace in Beijing - The Hall that Dispels the Clouds

Built in 1750 and named Garden of Clear Ripple, it was an imperial garden and temporay palace of the royal family in the Qing Dynasty. In 1860, the garden was burned down by the Anglo-French forces and rebuilt in 1888, known as Summer Palace.

The Summer Palace includes mainly the Longevity Hill and Kunming Lake, with a total area of 300.59 hectares, of which 75% are covered by water. The Summer Palace is well known for its conservation of 70,000-square-meter palaces and gardens, as well as a large collection of valuable cultural relics. It was designated as one of the first national priority protected sites in 1961 and inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1998.

>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace

Ask Question

In this section