The Waterfront Vilalge in Summer Palace

This used to be a small group of structures in the style of waterfront village found in the south of the lower reaches of Yangtze Rive. Firstg built in the reign of Emperor Qianlong (1736-1795), these structures were burnt down in 1860 (10th year of Emperor Xianfeng's reign) by the Anglo-French Allied Forces. In 1886 (12th year of Emperor Guangxu's Reign), it was converted into the Outer Navy Academy. In 2003, parts of the remaining structures were restored, and the original sight during the period of Qingyi Yuan (Garden of Clear Ripples) reappeared.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace


Ask Question


In this section