Hall of Happiness and Longevity

Built in 1750 during Emperor Qianlong's reign, this hall originally had two floors. Burned down by the Anglo-French Allied Forces in Emperor Xianfeng's reign (1860), it was reconstructed in 1886 to serve as the living quarters for Empress Dowager Cixi during the stay in the Summer Palace.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace


Ask Question


In this section