Pavilion of Bright Scenery in Beijing Summer Palace

Originally built during Emperor Qianlong's reign (1736-1795), the structure of the pavilion was a copy of a painting "A Picture of Enjoying the Cool under the Lotus Pavilion", painted by Zhao Mengfu (1254-1322), a well-known artist in the Yuan Dynasty. The pavilion got its name from a line in a famous verse entitled "A Note on the Yueyang Tower" by Fan Zhongyan (989-1052), who wrote: "The Spring is peaceful and the scenery is bright, the billows are asleeping." Burned down by the Anglo-French Allied Forces in 1860, it was rebuilt in 1992.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace

Ask Question

In this section