Long Corridor in Beijing Summer Palace

The Long Corridor was originally built in 1750 and then rebuilt in 1886 after the Anglo-French Allied Forces burned it down in 1860. It starts from Yaoyue (Inviting the Moon) Gate in the east and ends at Shizhang (Stone Old Man) Pavilion in the west- a distance of 728 meters with 273 sections. Of all the corridors in Chinese classical gardens, this is the longest. On the beams are more than 8,000 colorful paintings depicting birds, flowers, landscapes and stories from Chinese literary classics. Four octagonal, double-eaved pavilions. "Mesmerizing Scenery," "Harmonizing with the Lake," "Autumn Water" and "Clear and Carefree," were built intermittently along the corridor. Taking the Hall of Dispelling Clouds as the center, the Long Corridor stretches symmetrically to the east and the west along the foot of the hill and the lakeshore, linking all the structures scattered along Longevity Hill into a whole.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace


Ask Question


In this section