The Yiyun Hall at the Summer Palace China

"Yiyun" means collection of books. The hall with two side wings, each with five bays, was originallay built in 1750 during Emperor Qianlong's reign. The east wing was named the "Method Keeping Room" and the west one was named "Nearing the West Room". Burned donwn by the Anglo-French Allied Forces in 1860, it was rebuilt in 1886 to serve as a residence for the express.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace

Ask Question

In this section