Four Great Regions of the Beijing Summer Palace

Built during Emperor Qianlong's reign (1736-1795), this group of Buddhist structures was built in accordance with the Tibetan style of architechture. They were called the Jambudvipa, Uttarakara, Purvavidewa, and Aparagodahiya. Burned down in 1860 by the Anglo-French Allied Forces, they were rebuilt to the original design in 1980.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace

Ask Question

In this section