Scenic Area of "Pictures of Farming and Weawing"

First built in the reign of Emperor Qianlong (1736-1795), this area in the former Qingyi Yuan (Garden of Clear Ripples) was a portrayal of the lifestyle from the south of the lower reaches of the Yangtze River. The major structures of this area used to be Chengxian Tang (Hall of Clearness and Freshness), Yuhe Zhai (Studio of the Jade River), Yanshang Zhai (Hall of Ample Good View), Canshen Miao (Temple of the Goddess of Silkworm), Zhiran Jun(Weaving and Dyeing Bureau) and Shuicun Ju (Water front Village). Starting from 1769 (34th year of Emperor Qianlong's reign), three years were devoted to carving the two series of Pictures of Farming and Silk Weaving by Yuan dynasty painter Cheng Qi. These carvings were later fitted into the left and right corridor walls of Yuhe Zhai (Studio of the Jade River). In 1860 (10th year of Emperor Xianfeng's reign), the Anglo-French Allied Forces burnt down all the structures. In 1886 (12th year of Emperor Guangxu's reign) this area was converted into a Navy Academy. In 2003, while preserving the remains of the Navy Academy, the Administration Office of the Summer Palace rebuilt some of the original structures that belonged to the scenic area of "Pictures of Farming and Weaving", and the landscape was restroed.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace


Ask Question


In this section