The Hall of Listening to Orioles at the Summer Palace

Initially built by Emperor Qianlong (1736-1795) for his mother to watch operas, this theater with its two-storey stages was named the "Hall for Listening to Orioles" because in old times, people often compared beautiful voices to the singging of orioles. It was burned down by the Anglo-French Allied Forces in 1860 and rebuilt during the reign Emperor Guangxu (1875-1908). Before the completion of the Grand Stage in the Garden of Virtue and Harmony, the Empress Dowager Cixi often watched operas and held banquets here. Now, the hall serves as a reastauran specializing in imperial court cuisine and is famous for having received over a hundred foreign leaders.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace


Ask Question


In this section