Wenchang Tower in the Summer Palace

The largest of the six gate forts in the Summer Palace garden, the Wenchang Tower was first built in 1750 and rebuilt under Emperor Guanxu after the Anglo-French Allied Forces burned it down in 1860. A bronze statue of the god, Wenchang, and statues of two folowers, the celestial boy, and the bronze steed, were placed in the two-storey pavilion. This tower is paired with the Tower of Cloud-Retaining Eaves, located to the west of the Longevity Hill, in which a statue of the Martial God was placed. The two towers symbolize the support by both scholars and warriors to the ruiling emperor.
>> Open in a New Window to See the Large Photo

Questions & Answers about Summer Palace

Ask Question

In this section